StahlDat SX

StahlDat SX is the only authorized publication of the
European Steel Register and a continuously growing
knowledge base for steel on the Internet.



LOGIN into StahlDat SX

StahlDaten Shop











Thermophysical data

based on the 100 steels program of Friedhelm Richter Investigated properties / measuring methods and measuring instruments

  • Density

The density was determined by weighing in air and under water using a thermostated semi-microbalance.

  • Thermal expansion

For measuring the thermal expansion, i. the average linear thermal expansion coefficient and the differential linear thermal expansion coefficient, a specially constructed Dilatometermessplatz was used with vertical sample positioning.

  • Young's modulus and transverse contraction number

The two elastic sizes, the modulus of elasticity and the transverse contraction number, were recorded by measuring the resonance frequencies of free-swinging rod-shaped samples. The "dynamic" quantities determined in this way can differ from the "static" sizes, in particular at higher temperatures, as determined in the tensile or bending test. For these investigations, the measuring arrangements with the designation "Elastomat" and "Tectanel" were available.

  • Specific heat capacity

An adiabatic calorimeter was used to determine the heat content and thus the true specific heat capacity and the average specific heat capacity. The recent studies used a dynamic power-difference calorimeter.

  • Specific electrical resistance

A specially constructed experimental setup allows the measurement of the specific electrical resistance. On rod-shaped samples, the specific electrical resistance in a thermostatted bath at 20 ° C can be determined. To determine the temperature dependence, thin sample plates are used, in which antiparallel Sägeschnitte be introduced to increase the electrical resistance.

  • Thermal conductivity

Based on the law of Wiedemann-Franz-Lorenz, the thermal conductivity can be calculated, especially if one has derived the coefficients in the relationship of heat conductance and resistance measurements on samples of the steel to be examined with the same or similar composition.

  • Thermal conductivity

From the determined values ​​of thermal conductivity, true specific heat capacity and density, the numerical values ​​for the thermal diffusivity result. For the direct measurement, the laser flash method was used for some steels.

StahlDat SX

StahlDat SX is the only authorized publication of the
European Steel Register and a continuously growing
knowledge base for steel on the Internet.



LOGIN into StahlDat SX

StahlDaten Shop











Thermophysikalische Prüfdaten

basierend auf dem 100 Stähle Programm von Friedhelm Richter

Untersuchte Eigenschaften / Messverfahren und Messgeräte

  • Dichte

Die Dichte wurde durch Wägung an Luft und unter Wasser unter Verwendung einer thermostatisierten Halbmikrowaage ermittelt.

  • Wärmeausdehnung

Zur Messung der Wärmeausdehnung, d.h. des mittleren linearen Wärmeausdehnungskoeffizienten und des differenziellen linearen Wärmeausdehnungskoeffizienten, wurde ein eigens aufgebauter Dilatometermessplatz mit vertikaler Probenpositionierung eingesetzt.

  • Elastizitätsmodul und Querkontraktionszahl

Die beiden elastischen Größen, der Elastizitätsmodul und die Querkontraktionszahl, wurden über die Messung der Resonanzfrequenzen frei schwingender stabförmiger Proben erfasst. Die so ermittelten "dynamischen" Größen können sich, insbesondere bei höheren Temperaturen, von den "statischen" Größen unterscheiden, wie sie im Zug- oder Biegeversuch ermittelt werden. Für diese Untersuchungen standen die Messanordnungen mit der Bezeichnung "Elastomat" und "Tectanel"zur Verfügung.

  • Spezifische Wärmekapazität

Ein adiabatisches Kalorimeter diente zur Ermittlung des Wärmeinhalts und damit der wahren spezifischen Wärmekapazität sowie der mittleren spezifischen Wärmekapazität. Bei den jüngeren Untersuchungen wurde ein dynamisches Leistungs-Differenz-Kalorimeter eingesetzt.

  • Spezifischer elektrischer Widerstand

Eine eigens aufgebaute Versuchsanordnung erlaubt die Messung des spezifischen elektrischen Widerstandes. An stabförmigen Proben lässt sich der spezifische elektrische Widerstand in einem thermostatisierten Bad bei 20 °C bestimmen. Für die Ermittlung der Temperaturabhängigkeit werden dünne Probenplättchen verwendet, in die antiparallele Sägeschnitte eingebracht werden, um den elektrischen Widerstand zu erhöhen.

  • Wärmeleitfähigkeit

Unter Zugrundelegung des Gesetzes nach Wiedemann-Franz-Lorenz lässt sich die Wärmeleitfähigkeit berechnen, insbesondere dann, wenn man die Koeffizienten in der Beziehung aus Wärmeleitungs- und Widerstandsmessungen an Proben aus dem zu untersuchenden Stahl mit gleicher oder ähnlicher Zusammensetzung abgeleitet hat.

  • Temperaturleitfähigkeit

Aus den ermittelten Größen Wärmeleitfähigkeit, wahre spezifische Wärmekapazität und Dichte ergeben sich die Zahlenwerte für die Temperaturleitfähigkeit. Für die direkte Messung wurde bei einigen Stählen die Laser-Flash-Methode eingesetzt.